wholesalekrot.blogg.se

Nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014
Nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014












During the verses Minaj raps with a sense of urgency, however, the first verse is kept restrained as she raps about someone who wronged her, "They could never make me hate you/Even though what you was doin' wasn't tasteful/Even though you out here looking so ungrateful/I'mma keep it movin' be classy and graceful." She later says that she'll "forgive and forget", but knows that they're jealous of her success: "But I spin off in a Benzie/I see the envy when I'm causin' a frenzy". As the pre-chorus repeats, an echo effect is added to her vocals, and "blooming" chants of "I still love, I still love, I still lu-uh-uhhhv" are sung to create the song's chorus. The song opens with a sparse, haunting drum beat, while Minaj sings the pre-chorus in a feather-like near-whisper, "Pills 'n potions, we're overdosin'/I'm angry but I still love you".

nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014

Kory Grow of Rolling Stone opined that the song shows Minaj "sublimely (and maturely) rising above her detractors, even singing that she still loves them." Chris Payne of Billboard said the song coupled a chorus "reminiscent of a Rihanna ballad" with rapped verses. "Pills n Potions" is a pop and hip hop piano ballad "framed in the druggy imagery of mixtape rap". Problems playing this file? See media help. She promoted the single by means of several radio interviews throughout the United States, including Power 105.1's The Breakfast Club, KIIS-FM's On Air with Ryan Seacrest, Hot 97's morning show, Z100 with Elvis Duran and the Morning Show and a sit down interview for Power 106's The Big Boy's Neighborhood Morning Show. On May 24, 2014, Minaj premiered "Pills n Potions" on SoundCloud, with song being available for purchase on iTunes later that day. It sounds like – *gasp!*" On May 19, 2014, Minaj revealed the single's cover art on Instagram.

nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014

Speaking to Billboard, she explained: "It sounds like urgency, It sounds like betrayal. In an interview for Rap-Up, she stated that "Pills n Potions" was "uplifting" and "very soulful". She revealed the title of the song at the 2014 Billboard Music Awards and afterwards hosted a Q&A on Twitter where she revealed information regarding the single. She stated that the single would be released in two weeks. Minaj first mentioned the song in her promo single, " Yasss Bish" which features Soulja Boy. Minaj describing the concept behind "Pills n Potions". I don't feel like there's ever been somebody that I loved that I no longer love, I just may not be able to live with you or have you in my life, and that's really what the song is about."

nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014

"What that felt like to me was forgiveness, you know, and just understanding that everybody gets mad, but when you love somebody, I feel like you'll always love them.














Nicki minaj pills n potions bet awards 2014